Something pretty. Something witty. Something wild.

 

 

They warned me because I was a woman. They said, “Cross your leg.” I stared at the cotton panties of my classmates, suddenly aware. They warned me because I was a girl. They said, “Why don’t you shave your legs?” I said I am eleven. I said I have never even heard of a razor. I said none of these things. I got on the bus.

They warned me because I was smart. They warned me because I wanted to know. They said, “Please allow some of the other students to ask questions.” They said, “You’re going to love college.” I said, “Why can’t I go there now?” I said why aren’t we allowed outside.
I don’t want this I want a cat. I don’t want this. I want to play on the potter’s wheel. I don’t want this .

 

Leave a Reply

