Excerpt: Night Walk

I had an interesting conversation with my boss. I asked him what his seventh deadly sin would be, the worst monster or mythical beast ever created, and what is the most harmful misconception. He said “Believing everything will stay the same.” And I said “Rationalizing your own shortcomings.” That was most of the conversation except “and thinking the trash will take itself out.” I walked the dog and took out the trash.

We walked up high where you can see the river. I looked back at our three-way intersection. There was a row of houses overshadowed by clouds. There were shrouded mountains against a gilded Hudson river. And there in front of me was uphill where the light does not reach, signifying nothing.

Leave a Reply

